The Air National Guard (ANG) often referred to as the Air Guard is the air force militia organized by each of the fifty U.S. states the commonwealth of Puerto Rico the territories of Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands and the District of Columbia of the United States. Established under Title 10 and Title 32 of the U.S. Code the Air National Guard is part of the state National Guard and is divided up into units stationed in each of the 50 states and U.S.